Ballon d’Or: Lionel Messi wins award as finest participant in world soccer for seventh time

Paris St-Germain and Argentina ahead Lionel Messi received the Ballon d’Or – awarded to the perfect footballer of the yr – for a file seventh time.

Messi, 34, helped his nation win the Copa America, his first worldwide honour, and has scored 40 targets in 2021 – 28 for Barcelona, 4 for Paris St-Germain and eight for Argentina.

Bayern Munich and Poland striker Robert Lewandowski got here second, Chelsea and Italy midfielder Jorginho was third and Actual Madrid’s French striker Karim Benzema completed fourth.

The Ballon d’Or is voted for by 180 journalists from around the globe, though there was no award in 2020 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Both Messi or Cristiano Ronaldo (5 wins) collected the award yearly from 2008 to 2019, aside from in 2018 when Croatia midfielder Luka Modric received it.

Messi had already received the trophy extra instances than another participant and his seventh success comes after he additionally received the Ballon d’Or in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015 and 2019.

Lewandowski, who scored 53 targets in all competitions in 2021 for Bayern, was awarded the ‘Striker of the 12 months’ prize, a brand new award that was solely introduced hours earlier than the ceremony started.

Paris St-Germain’s Gianluigi Donnarumma, who helped Italy win Euro 2020, received the Yashin Trophy for finest goalkeeper, whereas Champions League winners Chelsea had been named Membership of the 12 months.

Barcelona midfielder Pedri, 19, received the Kopa Trophy for the perfect participant aged underneath 21, with England internationals Jude Bellingham, Mason Greenwood and Bukayo Saka coming second, fifth and sixth respectively.

Ballon d’Or outcomes

  1. Lionel Messi (Paris St-Germain/Argentina, ahead)
  2. Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Poland, ahead)
  3. Jorginho (Chelsea/Italy, midfielder)
  4. Karim Benzema (Actual Madrid/France, ahead)
  5. N’Golo Kante (Chelsea/France, midfielder)
  6. Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United/Portugal, ahead)
  7. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool/Egypt, ahead)
  8. Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester Metropolis/Belgium, midfielder)
  9. Kylian Mbappe (Paris St-Germain/France, ahead)
  10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (Paris St-Germain/Italy, goalkeeper)
  11. Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund / Norway, ahead)
  12. Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea / Belgium, ahead)
  13. Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus / Italy, defender)
  14. Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus / Italy, defender)
  15. Raheem Sterling (Manchester Metropolis / England, ahead)
  16. Neymar (Paris St-Germain / Brazil, ahead)
  17. Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid / Uruguay, ahead)
  18. Simon Kjaer (AC Milan / Denmark, defender)
  19. Mason Mount (Chelsea / England, midfielder)
  20. Riyad Mahrez (Manchester Metropolis / Algeria, ahead)
  21. Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United / Portugal, midfielder), tied with Lautauro Martinez (Inter Milan / Argentina, ahead)
  22. Harry Kane (Tottenham / England, ahead)
  23. Pedri (Barcelona / Spain, midfielder)
  24. Phil Foden (Manchester Metropolis / England, ahead)
  25. Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan / Italy, midfielder), tied with Ruben Dias (Manchester Metropolis / Portugal, defender) and Gerard Moreno (Villarreal / Spain, ahead)
  26. Luka Modric (Actual Madrid / Croatia, midfielder), tied with Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea / Spain, defender)

Extra to observe.

Everything you need to know about your Premier League team bannerBBC Sport banner footer

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *