Keely Hodgkinson: GB 800m runner granted top-level funding

In March Hodgkinson grew to become the youngest British winner on the European Athletics Indoor Championships since 1970

Keely Hodgkinson has been granted top-level funding on the British Athletics World Class Programme however some huge names have missed out.

Hodgkinson, 19, received 800m silver on the Tokyo Olympics the place she smashed Dame Kelly Holmes’ 26-year-old British report by nearly a second.

Funding has been reduce for Mo Farah, CJ Ujah, Tom Bosworth and Andrew Butchart.

4-time Olympic champion Farah, 38, missed out on the Video games in Japan after failing to qualify for the ten,000m.

Ujah examined constructive for banned substances after successful a silver medal within the 4x100m relay this summer season, however has denied any wrongdoing and is awaiting a ruling from the Court docket of Arbitration for Sport.

His team-mates Reece Prescod and Zharnel Hughes have been downgraded to relay funding solely.

Race walker Bosworth, who struggled with damage in 2021, expressed his disappointment, saying that the lack of “monetary and medical assist can be big”.

The World Class Programme is break up into tiers relying on an athlete’s capability and potential.

Dina Asher-Smith, Laura Muir, Katarina Johnson-Thompson and Adam Gemili are among the many 17 athletes who will obtain top-level funding.

Efficiency director Sara Symington stated: “As we begin the Paris cycle, and longer-term Los Angeles 2028, we made plenty of knowledgeable choices in regard to the World Class Programme membership that aligns with our strategic priorities.

“We are going to work intently with the 67 athlete and coach pairings that we’re providing membership to and can look so as to add assist and worth of their journey through their particular person athlete plan.”

The British Athletics Olympic World Class Programme Athletes:

Olympic Podium (17):

Dina Asher-Smith

Alex Bell

Holly Bradshaw

Adam Gemili

Callum Hawkins

Keely Hodgkinson

Abigail Irozuru

Katarina Johnson-Thompson

Josh Kerr

Nick Miller

Laura Muir

Andrew Pozzi

Jemma Reekie

Jazmin Sawyers

Lynsey Sharp

Lorraine Ugen

Jake Wightman

Olympic Podium Potential (26):

Elizabeth Fowl

Emily Borthwick

Taylor Campbell

Harry Coppell

Melissa Courtney-Bryant

Oliver Dustin

Niamh Emerson

Tom Gale

Elliot Giles

Jake Heyward

Jessie Knight

Morgan Lake

Scott Lincoln

Eilish McColgan

Sophie McKinna

Naomi Metzger (née Ogbeta)

Lawrence Okoye

Aimee Pratt

Charlotte Purdue

Daniel Rowden

Marc Scott

Cindy Sember

Jessica Turner

Jamie Webb

Laura Weightman

Callum Wilkinson

Olympic Relays (16):

Kristal Awuah

Zoey Clark

Emily Diamond

Beth Dobbin

Zharnel Hughes

Richard Kilty

Imani-Lara Lansiquot

Nethaneel Mitchell-Blake

Daryll Neita

Ashleigh Nelson

Laviai Nielsen

Asha Philip

Ama Pipi

Reece Prescod

Jodie Williams

Nicole Yeargin

Olympic Affirmation Degree (8):

Jeremiah Azu

Ellie Baker

Molly Caudery

Piers Copeland

Jona Efoloko

Jessica Mayho

Holly Mills

Thomas Randolph

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *