Ladies’s Tour of Britain: Clara Copponi takes lead after ‘hectic’ stage two

France’s Clara Copponi is making her Ladies’s Tour of Britain debut

Ladies’s Tour of Britain debutant Clara Copponi moved into the general lead as Amy Pieters gained a “hectic” stage two.

British rider Pfeiffer Georgi, 21, led on the last flip however was overtaken in a dash end and got here fifth in Walsall.

FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope’s Copponi, 22, was second, having come third within the opening stage.

“It was a busy last,” stated Pieters, who has beforehand gained three Ladies’s Tour levels.

“It was an pressing dash however it went nicely on the finish.”

Georgi is the highest-placed Brit within the total standings in eighth, 10 seconds behind Frenchwoman Copponi.

On Wednesday, the Ladies’s Tour’s first ever particular person time trial will happen in Atherstone, with British time trial specialist Joss Lowden – who not too long ago broke biking’s prestigious hour document – competing.

Lowden is twenty fifth total and 52 seconds behind Copponi after the primary two levels, with two-time winner Lizzie Deignan down in forty fifth and one minute and 18 seconds behind after her Paris-Roubaix triumph on Saturday.

Movistar Crew’s Sheyla Gutierrez is third total after ending on the rostrum for the second time in a row because the riders accomplished 10 laps of a 10km circuit on day two.

In a single day chief Marta Bastianelli completed with the peloton 46 seconds behind the leaders and has slipped to tenth.

In addition to the chief’s blue jersey, Copponi took the factors jersey from Bastianelli, whereas Elisa Chabbey holds the queen of the mountains jersey and Nina Kessler retains the dash jersey.

Basic classification

1. Clara Copponi (Fra/FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) 6 hours 22 minutes 34 secs

2. Amy Pieters (Ned/SD Worx) Identical time

3. Sheyla Gutierrez (Spa/Movistar Crew) +6 secs

4. Demi Vollering (Ned/SD Worx) +9 secs

5. Juliette Labous (Fra/Tream DSM) +10 secs

6. Elise Chabbey (Swi/Canyon SRAM Racing) Identical time

7. Aude Biannic (Fra/Movistar Crew)

8. Pfeiffer Georgi (GB/Crew DSM)

9. Nina Kessler (Ned/Crew TIBCO/-SVB) +38 secs

10. Marta Bastianelli (Ita/Ale BTC Ljubljana) +40 secs

Stage two outcomes

1. Amy Pieters (Ned/SD Worx) 2 hours 38 minutes 3 secs

2. Clara Copponi (Fra/FDJ Nouvelle Aquitaine Futuroscope) Identical time

3. Sheyla Gutierrez (Spa/Movistar Crew)

4. Audrey Cordon-Ragot (Fra/Trek-Segafredo)

5. Pfeiffer Georgi (GB/Crew DSM)

6. Elise Chabbey (Swi/Canyon SRAM Racing)

7. Maaike Boogaard (Ned/Ale BTC Ljubljana)

8. Aude Biannic (Fra/Movistar Crew)

9. Juliette Labous (Fra/Tream DSM)

10. Demi Vollering (Ned/SD Worx)

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *