Nominations open for Sportswomen of the Yr Awards 2021

The 2021 Sunday Instances Sportswomen of the Yr Awards kicks off the nationwide name for public nominations this Sunday (twelfth September).

The distinguished awards, now of their thirty fourth 12 months, have led the best way in recognising and celebrating the excellent contribution made to sport by ladies in any respect ranges, from elite to grassroots.

For the following two weeks, the British public is invited to submit nominations for the seven classes at Nominations are open till 11:59pm twenty seventh September.

1. The Sunday Instances Sportswoman of the Yr 2021
The final word accolade on your favorite sportswoman of this 12 months

2. Younger Sportswoman of the Yr
Nominees will need to have been 21 years previous or youthful on January 1, 2021

3. Incapacity Sportswoman of the Yr
The excellent performer in a incapacity sport

4. Crew of the Yr
Celebrating the achievements of Britain’s profitable collective efforts

5. Changemaker Award
Celebrating those that have impressed others and used their platforms to create change

5. Grassroots Award
For people who’ve actively engaged with completely different teams of individuals inside their group by means of sport

6. The Helen Rollason Award for inspiration
Recognising inspirational endeavour in honour of the late sports activities presenter Helen Rollason

Rebecca Myers, Sunday Instances sports activities journalist mentioned;

“After a difficult 12 months, ladies’s sport has bounced again with a vengeance in 2021, wonderful performances at Wimbledon, the Olympics, Paralympics, the Girls’s Tremendous League, and extra. There may be extra for these awards to rejoice than ever.

The SWOTY awards recognise the immense power and iron dedication of profitable ladies in sport from these on the prime of their skilled careers, to these encouraging others to strive one thing new on the weekend. We’re additionally delighted to introduce the ‘Changemaker Award’ which can honour those who use their affect and platform to encourage and inspire others.”

The web nomination course of closes at 11:59pm on Monday September 27.

A panel of consultants will then choose the respective shortlists. This 12 months’s judging panel contains family names Gabby Logan (BBC sports activities presenter), Chemmy Alcott (former World Cup alpine ski racer), Ama Agbeze (former England netball captain and Commonwealth Video games gold medallist), Rebecca Adlington OBE (World and Olympic champion swimmer), Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE (former England and GB hockey captain and Olympic gold medallist), Natalie Sawyer (co-host of talkSPORT Weekend Sports activities Breakfast present), Chrissie Wellington OBE (four-time Ironman triathlon world champion), Tanni Gray-Thompson OBE (Paralympics and world champion wheelchair racer), Ellie Simmonds OBE (paralympic and world champion swimmer), Laura Woods (talkSPORT and Sky sports activities presenter), Helen Glover MBE (Olympic and world champion rower)

The shortlist will probably be introduced and voting will open on Sunday seventeenth October, with the general public in a position to vote for his or her winners till Wednesday seventeenth November.

The winners will probably be revealed at a live-streamed awards ceremony on Thursday twenty fifth November.

Earlier winners of the primary award, the coveted Sportswoman of the Yr accolade, embody Dina Asher-Smith, Elise Christie, Sally Gunnell, Tanni Gray-Thompson, Denise Lewis, Dame Kelly Holmes, Zara Phillips, Victoria Pendleton and Christine Ohuruogu. Hollie Doyle, the British jockey who competes in flat racing was topped the 2021 Sportswoman of the Yr final November

The Sportswomen of the Yr Awards are among the many most prestigious and influential within the British sporting calendar and are supported by the Sport and Recreation Alliance, UK Sport, Sport England and Girls in Sport.

Observe the most recent information and get entangled by following #SWOTY within the lead as much as the Awards

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *