T20 World Cup: England face West Indies in rematch of 2016 remaining

Venue: Dubai Worldwide Cricket Stadium Date: 23 October Time: 15:00 BST
Protection: Dwell commentary on BBC Radio 5 Dwell Sports activities Further, plus textual content commentary, in-play clips and video highlights on BBC Sport web site and app.

England start their Males’s T20 World Cup marketing campaign towards West Indies in Dubai on Saturday in a rematch of the 2016 remaining.

West Indies beat England in a last-over thriller 5 years in the past, when Carlos Brathwaite hit Ben Stokes for 4 sixes in a row to seal victory.

England at the moment are the top-ranked Twenty20 group and 50-over world champions.

Australia face South Africa in Abu Dhabi at 11:00 BST, adopted by England v West Indies at 15:00.

These matches characterize the beginning of the Tremendous 12 section, after every week of qualifying matches through which Scotland, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Namibia progressed to the principle draw.

There might be Check Match Particular commentary of each sport on Radio 5 Dwell Sports activities Further, plus reside textual content commentary, in-play clips and video highlights on the BBC Sport web site and app.

England chasing white-ball historical past

England – T20 champions in 2010 – are bidding to turn into the primary group to carry the 50-over and T20 World Cups on the identical time, and captain Eoin Morgan says his gamers are nonetheless motivated by their remaining defeat in 2016.

England have received their previous three T20 matches towards West Indies however have by no means crushed them at a T20 World Cup.

Morgan’s facet misplaced to India and beat New Zealand of their two warm-up matches this week.

“We have performed a few of our greatest ever cricket in T20 World Cups, so guys are excited,” he stated.

“Given the expertise we had in 2016 and the trip that we went on, it was unbelievable, totally pleasant.”

At 42, West Indies legend Chris Gayle is the oldest participant within the match however types a part of a strong batting line-up that additionally contains captain Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran and Andre Russell.

Group 1 Group 2
Australia Afghanistan
England India
South Africa New Zealand
West Indies Pakistan
Sri Lanka Namibia
Bangladesh Scotland
The highest two groups from every group will qualify for the semi-finals.

What about Australia and South Africa?

Neither Australia nor South Africa have received the T20 World Cup, though Australia reached the 2010 remaining.

“We’re actually excited to kick it off,” Australia captain Aaron Finch stated.

“Everybody’s in a reasonably good house. The best way the group’s come collectively, the sensation across the place has been good.”

Australia beat New Zealand earlier than being thrashed by India of their warm-up matches, whereas South Africa noticed off Afghanistan and Pakistan.

“I’m assured,” South Africa captain Temba Bavuma stated. “The squad that we’ve here’s a squad that has been taking part in collectively for fairly some time.

“With the constructive outcomes we have been capable of get, that has given us confidence within the guys who’re right here.”

Around the BBC footer - Sounds

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *