County Championship: Two-division construction to return from 2022 season

Essex have been the final facet to win the County Championship in a two-division format in 2019

The County Championship is to revert to 2 divisions once more in 2022.

Following two seasons below revised constructions within the wake of the Covid-19 pandemic, the England and Wales Cricket Board was eager to return to the format agreed by the 18 counties in 2018.

After discussions with the ECB, golf equipment voted to return to a 10-team Division One and eight-team Division Two.

Two counties will probably be relegated from Division One and two promoted from Division Two subsequent 12 months.

The choice follows an thrilling climax to a two-phased 2021 County Championship season during which the counties have been initially break up into three teams.

Within the second section, 4 groups went into the ultimate spherical of fixtures nonetheless in with an opportunity of profitable the title, ultimately received by Warwickshire, who simply pipped Lancashire on the ultimate day.

However a type of 4 sides, Nottinghamshire, who have been relegated in 2019, will begin 2022 within the eight-team Division Two.

Lancashire, the 2019 Division Two champions, Northamptonshire and Gloucestershire will take their locations within the high flight, as was initially deliberate earlier than the delayed 2020 marketing campaign was restructured.

Every county will play 14 Championship matches.

The ECB mentioned: “The England and Wales Cricket Board’s function forward of this week’s vote has been to facilitate discussions between the first-class counties and supply the choices obtainable to them.

“The precedence of these discussions has been to find out when and the way a return to the two-division construction may finest be achieved.

“The method to transition to that construction had begun in the course of the 2019 LV= Insurance coverage County Championship. On the finish of that season three counties have been promoted from Division Two (Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Gloucestershire) whereas the last-placed Division One county (Nottinghamshire) was relegated.

“A two-division Championship has, nevertheless, not taken place since then on account of Covid-19. However it has all the time been the intention of the first-class counties and the ECB to return to the two-division construction on the earliest alternative.

“After the vote to vary the format of males’s first-class cricket in 2020 and 2021 to mitigate in opposition to the affect of Covid-19, this week’s vote additionally thought of the choice to play one additional 12 months of the seeded group construction that was efficiently staged this summer season.

“Though there was help from counties to make use of the 2022 season as a method to step again to a two-divisional construction, there was not the two-thirds majority that was required.”

The ECB haven’t but mentioned whether or not or not the Bob Willis Trophy, lifted by Essex in 2020 and received by the Bears in 2021, will proceed.

County Championship construction for 2022

Division One:

Essex, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Lancashire, Northamptonshire, Somerset, Surrey, Warwickshire, Yorkshire.

Division Two:

Durham, Derbyshire, Glamorgan, Leicestershire, Middlesex, Nottinghamshire, Sussex, Worcestershire.

Banner Image Reading Around the BBC - BlueFooter - Blue

Supply by [author_name]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *